Dr. Stanley Nattel

Title(s), professional position(s) and university affiliation(s): 

Professor of medicine, University of Montreal

Dr. Stanley Nattel

Dr. Nattel received his MD from McGill University in 1974 and trained in Internal Medicine and Clinical Pharmacology at McGill between 1974 and 1978. He obtained Cardiology clinical and basic research training at Indiana University and University of Pennsylvania (1978-1981) before joining the faculty at McGill in 1981. In 1987, he transferred to the University of Montreal and Montreal Heart Institute, where he directed the Research Center between 1990 and 2004. He is presently Paul-David Chair in Cardiovascular Electrophysiology at the University of Montreal and Director of the Electrophysiology Research Program at the Montreal Heart Institute, where he continues to practice clinical cardiology. He is Editor in Chief of the Canadian Journal of Cardiology, Associate Editor of Heart Rhythm and an Editor of the Journal of Physiology, and is on the editorial board of Circulation Arrhythmia and Electrophysiology, Circulation Research, Cardiovascular Research, Journal of Molecular and Cellular Cardiology, Journal of Cardiovascular Pharmacology, Nature Reviews in Cardiology and Drugs. His research focuses on clinically-relevant mechanisms of cardiac bioelectricity, particularly atrial fibrillation, proarrhythmia, cardiac remodeling, ion channel molecular physiology and mechanisms of drug action. His lab uses molecular, cellular, whole-animal and theoretical methods to gain insights into clinically-relevant basic mechanisms and identify novel therapeutic targets. He is also involved in multiple clinical trials, particularly in the area of atrial fibrillation. He has authored over 400 scientific articles in peer-reviewed journals and is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada, the Royal College of Physicians of Canada, the American College of Cardiology and the Heart Rhythm Society. 

Research interest(s) 

Antuarythmic molecules
Clinical Pharmacology
Cardiac arrhythmias
Ablation of arrhythmias

Awards and Distinctions 

2012 : Honorary Professor, Harbin Medical University, Harbin, China
2011 : Prix Michel Sarrazin, Club de recherches cliniques du Québec
2009 : Distinguished visiting professor, Heart and Stroke Richard Lewar Center of Excellence in Cardiovascular Research, University of Toronto
2009 : Ronald Campbell Lecturer, Meeting on atrial fibrillation and heart failure, Bologna
2009 : Woldemar-Mobitz Award, German Society of Cardiology
2007 : Jonathan Ballon Award, Quebec Heart and Stroke Foundation
2006 : Kenneth W.G. Brown Memorial Lecturer, University of Toronto
2005 : Tier 1 Canada Research Chair in Cardiovascular Molecular (Declined)
2005 : Elected to Fellowship, Royal Society of Academy of Sciences Canada
2003 : Paul David Chair in Cardiovascular Electrophysiology, University of Montreal
2002 : Pierre Rijlant Lecturer, International Society of Electrocardiology
2002 : Roche Distinguished Speakership, University of Alberta
2002 : Personnalité de la Semaine, La Presse
2001 : Career Research Achievement Award , Canadian Cardiovascular Society
2001 : Eminent Scientist & Outstanding International Research Scholar of the Year, Promotion Council
1999 : Pfizer Visiting Professorship Program in Cardiovascular Medicine, Pfizer Visiting (University of Utah)
1990-1993 : Nordic FRSQ Research Scholarship, Fonds de la Recherche en Santé du Québec
1985 : Kenneth M. Piafsky Young InvestigatorAward, Canadian Society for Clinical Pharmacology
1979 - 1981 : HSFC Scholarship, Declined in favour of MRC award
1982 - 1987 : MRC Scholarship, Medical Research Council of Canada
1979 - 1981 : HSFC Fellowship, Declined in favour of MRC award
1979 - 1981 : MRC Fellowship, Medical Research Council of Canada
1967 - 1974 : McGill University Scholarship, McGill University
1974 : Francis Williams Award (shared), McGill University 
1973 : Bessner Award, McGill University
1973 : Charles Frosst Award in Pharmacology, McGill University
1970 : Boris Muskatov Prize in Psychology, McGill University
1967-1970 : Sir Edward Beatty Memorial Scholarship in Mathematics, McGill University 

Contact informations